The verified 6.0L Power Stroke torque number depends on the Ford application and source year. Ford's original 2004 F-Series Super Duty towing guide lists 560 lb-ft with 325 hp, while archived Ford material for the revised 2005 Super Duty lists 570 lb-ft with the same 325-hp headline and attributes the added torque to revised electronic control mapping. The difference is 10 lb-ft; dividing 10 by the reviewed 560-lb-ft baseline gives approximately 1.8 percent. Both calculations are editorial arithmetic, not additional Ford ratings or proof of a universal early-versus-late rule. The reviewed evidence does not complete a 2003–2007 torque table or publish peak-torque rpm, a full curve, E-Series or medium-duty torque, or a candidate truck's current output. Torque does not establish wheel force, acceleration, towing, payload, engine braking, fuel use, reliability or lifespan. No Canadian VIN, calibration, modification, inventory, seller, dealer count, price, financing or offer is certified. Research was refreshed 11 September 2026.

Direct answer: the reviewed Ford anchors are 560 and 570 lb-ft

For the reviewed 2004 F-Series Super Duty pickup context, Ford lists the 6.0L Power Stroke at 560 lb-ft. For the revised 2005 Super Duty context, Ford lists 570 lb-ft and says revised electronic engine-control mapping produced the additional torque. Keep the vehicle and model year beside either figure.

This is not a complete table for every 6.0L vehicle. The reviewed 2007 F-Super Duty and E-Series diesel supplement contains operating and service information but no advertised torque rating. A missing year, van, cutaway, chassis-cab or medium-duty cell remains unresolved until matching Ford literature is found.

Reviewed contextPublished engine torquePublished horsepower contextEvidence boundary
2004 F-Series Super Duty pickup560 lb-ft325 hpFord 2004 towing guide row
Revised 2005 Super Duty570 lb-ft325 hpArchived Ford launch and towing material
2007 F-Super Duty / E-Series supplementNot statedNot statedOperating and service publication only
Any used candidateDo not assumeDo not assumeVerify identity, literature and installed configuration

The ten-pound-foot change is source-bounded arithmetic

Subtracting the reviewed 2004 value from the reviewed 2005 value gives 570 minus 560, or 10 lb-ft. Dividing that difference by 560 and multiplying by 100 gives about 1.79 percent, rounded here to approximately 1.8 percent. Ford published the two endpoint values; this page performed the subtraction and percentage calculation.

The result does not describe every production change, every calibration or torque at each engine speed. It is not a measured gain for a used truck, a chassis-dynamometer result or a reliability finding. If another source uses a rounded comparison, retain its wording separately from this transparent arithmetic.

The 2004 figure belongs to a Super Duty pickup row

Ford's original 2004 RV and Trailer Towing Guide places the 6.0L Power Stroke Turbo Diesel V8 in the F-250 and F-350 Super Duty pickup engine lineup at 560 lb-ft and 325 hp. The document also discusses other Ford towing products, so its broader cover does not turn the pickup row into an all-application specification.

Do not transfer 560 lb-ft to an E-Series, Excursion, medium-duty chassis, replacement engine or modified truck without exact evidence. The reviewed row does not publish peak-torque rpm, a full output curve, transmission pairing for every build or current measured performance.

Ford ties the 2005 increase to revised control mapping

Archived Ford launch text for the 2005 Super Duty states 570 lb-ft and 325 hp and attributes the additional torque to revised electronic engine-control mapping. Ford's original 2005 towing guide independently says torque increased to 570 lb-ft, and the period Super Duty brochure corroborates the engine and vehicle context.

That evidence supports a revised 2005 Super Duty headline. It does not prove the controller, software, engine or transmission installed in a particular truck today. Replacement modules, reflashing, aftermarket tuning, swapped engines and incomplete-vehicle configurations each require their own records and identifiers.

Do not invent a complete 2003–2007 torque table

This research directly verifies the reviewed 2004 and revised 2005 Super Duty anchors. It does not establish every 2003, 2006 or 2007 calibration, a change by build month, or numeric E-Series and medium-duty values. Ford's 2007 diesel supplement cannot fill those gaps because it does not contain an advertised-output table.

When another year or application matters, locate Ford material that names both. Record pickup, chassis cab, van, cutaway, incomplete vehicle or medium-duty scope. Leave the torque and peak-rpm cells blank when the relevant primary source is absent rather than copying a familiar family-wide number.

Peak-torque rpm is unresolved in the reviewed evidence

Neither reviewed Super Duty output anchor supplies a peak-torque engine speed. A torque maximum without its rpm is less descriptive than a complete curve, but it remains more accurate to publish the supported value with an unresolved rpm field than to import an unsourced number.

Ford's 2007 supplement tells F-Super Duty manual-transmission operators not to exceed 3,600 rpm and states a maximum governed engine speed of 4,000 rpm depending on load. Those are operating limits, not peak-torque speeds, and they cannot be attached to the 2004 or 2005 maxima.

A peak number is not a complete torque curve

A full curve would show engine torque across many speeds under a defined test method. The 560- and 570-lb-ft headlines provide maxima but do not show rise, plateau, transient response, temperature effects or delivery before and after the peak. Do not draw a curve between two model-year headlines.

Driver feel also reflects accelerator mapping, turbo response, transmission strategy, axle ratio, tire size, vehicle mass, load, grade, altitude and temperature. A ten-pound-foot factory-headline difference cannot predict which used truck will feel stronger without those inputs and current-condition evidence.

Torque and horsepower answer different questions

Torque measures twisting force; horsepower describes the rate of doing work and depends on both torque and engine speed. The reviewed Ford evidence pairs both 560 and 570 lb-ft with a 325-hp headline, illustrating that a changed torque maximum does not require a changed advertised horsepower maximum.

The dedicated horsepower guide owns the 325-hp evidence and its limits. The broader specification page owns the source-scoped reference sheet. Keep these pages distinct so a torque query does not absorb horsepower, service capacities, architecture, problems or reliability into one duplicated engine summary.

Factory engine torque is not wheel torque

The Ford figures are advertised engine-output values. Torque reaching the tires depends on the selected transmission ratio, transfer-case state, axle ratio, driveline behaviour and tire rolling radius. A lower gear multiplies torque at the axle while changing wheel speed; it does not create a higher certified engine peak.

Do not estimate a candidate's wheel torque with a universal drivetrain-loss percentage. A chassis-dynamometer result depends on equipment, correction method, gear, tires, temperatures and test procedure. Preserve any measured result with its complete method and never relabel it as Ford's factory rating.

Transmission and axle choices change road behaviour

Two trucks with the same engine headline can behave differently because their transmissions, gear ratios, axle ratios, tires and loaded masses differ. The Ford towing guides resolve complete configurations through more than engine output, and a badge alone does not disclose those variables.

For a candidate, record the transmission identifier, service history, operating condition, axle label, tire size and any control-module work. Do not treat a shift concern or slow response as proof that factory torque is absent; diagnose the complete powertrain with current codes, observations and applicable service information.

Engine torque does not set towing capacity

A substantial engine-torque rating can support work under load, but it does not create a trailer rating. Ford's towing publications combine model, cab, wheelbase, drive, transmission, axle ratio, GCWR, hitch method and other equipment. The certification labels and the lowest applicable component or combination limit still govern.

Use the exact model-year towing guide and actual vehicle labels, then account for occupants, cargo, hitch hardware, accessories and trailer tongue or pin weight. Never convert 560 or 570 lb-ft into a tow-capacity claim or substitute it for payload, GVWR, GAWR, GCWR, tire or hitch limits.

Peak torque alone cannot rank acceleration

Acceleration depends on tractive force across speed, gear changes, vehicle mass, traction, grade, temperature and control strategy. One engine maximum cannot rank complete trucks without those inputs. Even matching engines can produce different road-test outcomes when configuration, load and condition differ.

Published acceleration tests require a separate source with vehicle identity, surface, load, weather and method. This guide does not invent zero-to-speed times or grade-speed results. Use safe inspection and road-test evidence to assess a candidate, and obtain qualified diagnosis when performance differs from expectation.

Engine braking is a separate operating outcome

The positive-drive torque maximum does not specify deceleration or downhill control. Engine braking and grade management depend on transmission strategy, selected gear, vehicle speed, brake condition, mass and any application-specific systems. The 560- and 570-lb-ft figures are not braking ratings.

Follow the exact owner literature for gear selection and safe grade operation. Confirm service-brake, trailer-brake and controller condition before towing. A strong factory torque headline cannot compensate for an overloaded combination, overheated brakes or an unresolved transmission concern.

Modifications break the direct factory comparison

Aftermarket programming, injectors, turbochargers, fuel-system parts, exhaust changes, tire size and transmission work can change operation or the validity of a factory-output comparison. A seller's claimed gain is not additive proof. Request parts, calibration, emissions, warranty, dyno and installation records.

Ford's 2007 supplement warns that products intended to increase horsepower or torque can affect longevity, emissions and warranty considerations, but it does not quantify a gain or declare every altered truck defective. Treat the installed configuration, legal compliance, diagnosis and measured performance as separate evidence questions.

Perceived low torque is a symptom, not a diagnosis

A complaint of low power can involve many systems, operating conditions or expectations. Record warnings, diagnostic codes, temperatures, fuel and oil service history, air and fuel filtration, transmission behaviour, recent repairs and modifications before forming a conclusion. Use the current Ford diagnostic path for the exact vehicle.

Do not assign a failed turbocharger, injector, fuel component, controller or transmission from a subjective drive alone. Conversely, an apparently strong drive does not verify factory output or erase stored history. This page supplies comparison boundaries, not repair instructions or a condition certificate.

Torque cannot establish reliability or lifespan

The approximately 1.8-percent endpoint change is not a durability study. A higher advertised torque value does not prove shorter life, and revised control mapping does not prove a universal reliability improvement. Reliability requires a defined population, exposure period, outcome and method that these Ford output records do not provide.

Keep problems, reliability, best-year and years-to-avoid research on their independent canonicals. For a used truck, identity, duty, service records, repairs, modifications, current findings and support matter more than turning a torque headline into a ranking. No failure rate or kilometre threshold is inferred here.

Recall research is VIN-specific and separate

Use Ford Canada's recall tool and the Government of Canada database with the exact private VIN. A family name, model year or perceived output concern does not prove that a vehicle is included in a campaign, that a remedy was completed or that the truck's present condition is acceptable.

Retain a dated lookup and repair evidence. Recall status does not establish torque, reliability, a failure rate or market value, while a torque specification does not determine campaign coverage. Canadian VIN applicability remains unresolved until the exact vehicle is checked through the official system.

Build a reproducible torque comparison

Create one row per source and candidate. Record vehicle, model year, application, engine, transmission, calibration evidence, torque, peak rpm, horsepower, source URL and retrieval date. Mark peak rpm unresolved for the reviewed 2004 and 2005 anchors rather than importing a number from a generic chart.

For a candidate, add private VIN/build evidence, installed engine and controller identifiers, axle, tires, modifications, service history, codes and inspection findings. Keep factory, derived and measured values in separate columns. That structure exposes conflicts and stops a headline number from silently becoming a current-output or buying claim.

Field2004 reviewed row2005 reviewed rowCandidate requirement
Engine torque560 lb-ft570 lb-ftExact application source
Peak-torque rpmUnresolvedUnresolvedDo not use governed speed
Horsepower context325 hp325 hpUse horsepower canonical
DifferenceBaseline+10 lb-ft; about +1.8% derivedLabel arithmetic
Current outputNot measuredNot measuredDefined test and configuration
Vehicle ratingsNot determinedNot determinedLabels and exact towing row

6.0L Power Stroke torque checklist

Identify the exact vehicle and installed engine; retrieve the matching Ford application source; record torque with units and source year; leave peak rpm unresolved unless explicitly published; label the 10-lb-ft and approximately 1.8-percent changes as arithmetic; keep factory and measured output separate; verify transmission, axle, tires and modifications; use vehicle labels for ratings; and check Canadian recalls by VIN.

Before relying on the result, confirm that no Super Duty pickup value was transferred to E-Series or medium-duty use, no 3,600- or 4,000-rpm operating limit became peak-torque rpm, and no torque maximum became a towing, acceleration, reliability, lifespan, inventory, price or offer conclusion.

Frequently asked questions

How much torque does the reviewed 6.0L Power Stroke have? Ford lists 560 lb-ft for the reviewed 2004 F-Series Super Duty pickup context and 570 lb-ft for the revised 2005 Super Duty context. Is that a 10-lb-ft increase? Yes; that subtraction and the approximately 1.8-percent comparison are editorial arithmetic.

At what rpm does peak torque occur? The reviewed sources do not publish it, and the 2007 supplement's 3,600- and 4,000-rpm statements are operating limits, not peak-torque speeds. Does 570 lb-ft set towing or prove reliability? No. Does this page verify a Canadian VIN, current output, inventory, price or offer? No.

Evidence note: manufacturer documents establish the specific facts and applications cited. Buying workflows and cost scenarios are DieselTrucks.ca editorial guidance. These pages do not publish measured failure rates or confirm the condition, recall status or capacity of a particular truck.

General educational content for Canadian diesel-pickup research. Verify the exact truck, model year, certification labels, owner manual and manufacturer documentation, and obtain qualified mechanical or towing advice where appropriate.

Sources & Further Verification

Use the exact model year, VIN, truck labels and current manufacturer documentation when moving from general research to a purchase or towing decision.